Friday, February 10, 2012

The Katie-Bar-The-Door Awards (1963)

My good and great friend, Mister Muleboy, often says that anything becomes funny if you repeat it 400 times—and he's right—but God help you through the first 399.

It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World, directed by the usually pious Stanley Kramer, is the cinematic equivalent of hoarding, piling up so many gags that it quickly wears out its welcome—and then piles up so many more that the sheer chutzpah of the effort makes you giddy.

It's not the best comedy of the year, but it is the funniest. For the effort of juggling the entire insane endeavor and bringing it home in one improbable piece, I've awarded Stanley Kramer the Katie Award for best director (comedy/musical) of 1963.

winner: The Great Escape (prod. John Sturges)
nominees: The Birds (prod. Alfred Hitchcock); From Russia With Love (prod. Albert R. Broccoli and Harry Saltzman); The Haunting (prod. Robert Wise); How The West Was Won (prod. Bernard Smith); Hud (prod. Irving Ravetch and Martin Ritt); Jason and the Argonauts (prod. Charles H. Schneer); The Servant (prod. Joseph Losey and Norman Priggen); Shock Corridor (prod. Samuel Fuller)

PICTURE (Comedy/Musical)
winner: Charade (prod. Stanley Donen)
nominees: It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World (prod. Stanley Kramer); The Nutty Professor (prod. Ernest D. Glucksman); The Pink Panther (prod. Martin Jurow); The Sword in the Stone (prod. Walt Disney); Tom Jones (prod. Tony Richardson)

PICTURE (Foreign Language)
winner: (prod. Angelo Rizzoli)
nominees: Il gattopardo (The Leopard) (prod. Goffredo Lombardo); Le Mépris (Contempt) (prod. Georges de Beauregard and Carlo Ponti); Nattvardsgästerna (Winter Light) (prod. Allan Ekelund); Tengoku to jigoku (High and Low) (prod. Ryûzô Kikushima and Tomoyuki Tanaka); Tystnaden (The Silence) (prod. Allan Ekelund); El verdugo (The Executioner) (prod. Nazario Belmar)

ACTOR (Drama)
winner: Marcello Mastroianni ()
nominees: Dirk Bogarde (The Servant); Richard Harris (This Sporting Life); Rex Harrison (Cleopatra); Burt Lancaster (The Leopard); Dean Martin (Toys in the Attic); Steve McQueen (The Great Escape); Toshirô Mifune (Tengoku to jigoku a.k.a. High And Low); Paul Newman (Hud); Sidney Poitier (Lilies of the Field)

ACTOR (Comedy/Musical)
winner: Jerry Lewis (The Nutty Professor)
nominees: Tom Courtenay (Billy Liar); Albert Finney (Tom Jones); Glenn Ford (The Courtship of Eddie's Father); Cary Grant (Charade); David Niven (The Pink Panther); Mickey Rooney (It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World); John Wayne (Donovan's Reef and McClintock!)

winner: Julie Harris (The Haunting)
nominees: Leslie Caron (The L-Shaped Room); Jeanne Moreau (La baie des anges a.k.a. Bay of Angels); Rachel Roberts (This Sporting Life); Delphine Seyrig (Muriel ou Le temps d'un retour a.k.a Muriel or The Time of Return); Ingrid Thulin (Nattvardsgästerna a.k.a. Winter Light and Tystnaden a.k.a. The Silence)

ACTRESS (Comedy/Musical)
winner: Ann-Margret (Bye Bye Birdie)
nominees: Doris Day (The Thrill Of It All and Move Over, Darling); Audrey Hepburn (Charade); Shirley MacLaine (Irma La Douce); Maureen O'Hara (McClintock!); Margaret Rutherford (Murder at the Gallop); Natalie Wood (Love with the Proper Stranger); Susannah York (Tom Jones)

winner: Federico Fellini ()
nominees: Ingmar Bergman (Nattvardsgästerna a.k.a. Winter Light and Tystnaden a.k.a. The Silence); Alfred Hitchcock (The Birds); Akira Kurosawa (Tengoku to jigoku a.k.a. High and Low); Martin Ritt (Hud); John Sturges (The Great Escape); Luchino Visconti (Il gattopardo a.k.a. The Leopard); Robert Wise (The Haunting)

DIRECTOR (Comedy/Musical)
winner: Stanley Kramer (It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World)
nominees: Stanley Donen (Charade); Jerry Lewis (The Nutty Professor); Tony Richardson (Tom Jones)

winner: Melvyn Douglas (Hud)
nominees: Hugh Griffith (Tom Jones); Paul Lynde (Bye Bye Birdie); Walter Matthau (Charade); Donald Pleasence (The Great Escape); Peter Sellers (The Pink Panther)

winner: Patricia Neal (Hud)
nominees: Edie Adams (Love with the Proper Stranger); Anouk Aimee (); Claire Bloom (The Haunting); Edith Evans (Tom Jones); Ethel Merman (It's A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World); Sandra Milo (); Margaret Rutherford (The V.I.P.s)

winner: Peter Stone; story by Peter Stone and Marc Behm (Charade)
nominees: Nelson Gidding, from the novel by Shirley Jackson (The Haunting); Irving Ravetch and Harriet Frank, Jr., from the novel by Larry McMurtry (Hud); John Osborne, from the novel by Henry Fielding (Tom Jones)

Ray Harryhausen (Jason and the Argonauts) (Special Effects); Elmer Bernstein (The Great Escape) (Score)

No comments: