Saturday, February 4, 2012

The Katie-Bar-The-Door Awards (1957)

If you're anything like me, you see the year "1957" on a post and you immediately think, "Oh, yeah, the year Auburn won a national title in football."

What? That's not what you think of? Hmm, strange ...

winner: The Bridge On The River Kwai (prod. Sam Spiegel)
nominees: A Face In The Crowd (prod. Elia Kazan); Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison (prod. John Huston); The Incredible Shrinking Man (prod. Albert Zugsmith); Paths Of Glory (prod. James B. Harris and Kirk Douglas); Sweet Smell Of Success (prod. James Hill); 12 Angry Men (prod. Henry Fonda and Reginald Rose); Witness For the Prosecution (prod. Arthur Hornblow, Jr.)

PICTURE (Comedy/Musical)
winner: Funny Face (prod. Roger Edens)
nominees: A King In New York (prod. Charles Chaplin); Love in the Afternoon (prod. Billy Wilder); Will Success Spoil Rock Hunter? (prod. Frank Tashlin)

PICTURE (Foreign Language)
winner: Det sjunde inseglet (The Seventh Seal) (prod. Allan Ekelund)
nominees: Donzoko (The Lower Depths) (prod. Akira Kurosawa); Il Grido (prod. Franco Cancellieri); Kanal (prod. Zespól Filmowy "Kadr"); Kumonosu-jô (Throne of Blood) (prod. Akira Kurosawa and Sôjirô Motoki); Letyat zhuravli (The Cranes Are Flying) (prod. Mikhail Kalatozov); Le notti di Cabiria (Nights Of Cabiria) (prod. Dino De Laurentiis); Smultronstället (Wild Strawberries) (prod. Allan Ekelund)

ACTOR (Drama)
winner: Tony Curtis (Sweet Smell Of Success)
nominees: Lee J. Cobb (12 Angry Men); Kirk Douglas (Paths Of Glory); Henry Fonda (12 Angry Men); Andy Griffith (A Face In The Crowd); Alec Guinness (The Bridge On The River Kwai); William Holden (The Bridge on the River Kwai); Rock Hudson (The Tarnished Angels); Charles Laughton (Witness For The Prosecution); Toshiro Mifune (Kumonosu-jô a.k.a. Throne of Blood); Robert Mitchum (Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison and The Enemy Below); Sidney Poitier (Edge of the City); Victor Sjöström (Smultronstället a.k.a. Wild Strawberries); Max von Sydow (Det sjunde inseglet a.k.a. The Seventh Seal)

ACTOR (Comedy/Musical)
winner: Tony Randall (Will Success Spoil Rock Hunter?)
nominees: Fred Astaire (Funny Face and Silk Stockings); Gary Cooper (Love In The Afternoon); Frank Sinatra (Pal Joey)

winner: Guilietta Masina (Le notti di Cabiria a.k.a. Nights Of Cabiria)
nominees: Marlene Dietrich (Witness For The Prosecution); Deborah Kerr (Heaven Knows, Mr. Allison); Patricia Neal (A Face In The Crowd); Tatyana Samojlova (Letyat zhuravli a.k.a. The Cranes Are Flying); Joanne Woodward (The Three Faces Of Eve)

ACTRESS (Comedy/Musical)
winner: Audrey Hepburn (Funny Face and Love in the Afternoon)
nominees: Doris Day (The Pajama Game); Rita Hayworth (Pal Joey); Jayne Mansfield (Will Success Spoil Rock Hunter?)

winner: Ingmar Bergman (Det sjunde inseglet a.k.a. The Seventh Seal and Smultronstället a.k.a. Wild Strawberries)
nominees: Federico Fellini (Le notti di Cabiria a.k.a. Nights Of Cabiria); Stanley Kubrick (Paths of Glory); Akira Kurosawa (Kumonosu-jô a.k.a. Throne of Blood and Donzoko a.k.a. The Lower Depths); David Lean (The Bridge On The River Kwai); Alexander Mackendrick (Sweet Smell Of Success); Billy Wilder (Witness For The Prosecution)

DIRECTOR (Comedy/Musical)
winner: Chuck Jones (What's Opera, Doc?)
nominees: Charles Chaplin (A King In New York); Stanley Donen (Funny Face); Frank Tashlin (Will Success Spoil Rock Hunter?); Billy Wilder (Love in the Afternoon)

winner: Burt Lancaster (Sweet Smell Of Success)
nominees: Red Buttons (Sayonara); Errol Flynn (The Sun Also Rises); Sessue Hayakawa (The Bridge On The River Kwai); Curt Jürgens (The Enemy Below); Walter Matthau (A Face In The Crowd); Adolphe Menjou (Paths of Glory); Tyrone Power (Witness For The Prosecution); Jack Warden (12 Angry Men)

winner: Kay Kendall (Les Girls)
nominees: Bibi Andersson (Det sjunde inseglet a.k.a. The Seventh Seal and Smultronstället a.k.a. Wild Strawberries); Joan Blondell (Will Success Spoil Rock Hunter?); Mitzi Gaynor (Les Girls); Carolyn Jones (The Bachelor Party); Elsa Lanchester (Witness For The Prosecution); Kay Thompson (Funny Face); Ingrid Thulin (Smultronstället a.k.a. Wild Strawberries); Miyoshi Umeki (Sayonara)

winner: Clifford Odets and Ernest Lehman, from the novella by Ernest Lehman (Sweet Smell Of Success)
nominees: Pierre Boulle (later accredited to Carl Foreman and Michael Wilson), from the novel by Pierre Boulle (The Bridge On The River Kwai); Federico Fellini, Ennio Flaiano and Tullio Pinelli (story and screenplay), Pier Paolo Pasolini (screenplay), from the novel by Maria Molinari (Le notti di Cabiria a.k.a. Nights Of Cabiria); Stanley Kubrick, Calder Willingham and Jim Thompson, from the novel by Humphrey Cobb (Paths Of Glory); Ingmar Bergman, from his play (Det sjunde inseglet a.k.a. The Seventh Seal); Ingmar Bergman (Smultronstället a.k.a. Wild Strawberries); Reginald Rose, from his teleplay (12 Angry Men); Billy Wilder and Harry Kurnitz (screenplay), Larry Marcus (adaptation), from the play by Agatha Christie (Witness For The Prosecution)

"Jailhouse Rock" (Jailhouse Rock) music and lyrics by Jerry Lieber and Mike Stoller (Song); What's Opera Doc? (Cartoon Short); James Wong Howe (Sweet Smell Of Success) (Cinematography)


MovieNut14 said...

I've got a big, stupid smile on my face from the winners for Actor (Drama), Supporting Actor, and Screenplay. God, do I love that movie.

Mythical Monkey said...

Hey, MovieNut14! How are you doing?

I also love Sweet Smell of Success. In fact, I sort of wonder whether it isn't the best movie of 1957.

A great one, for sure.